Quick check in ….. (still in Portland)

Ok, so I got an email from my mother this morning wanting to make sure that I was still here. She was checking in to see if I’d been getting enough rest, sleep, and food, and she was wondering if I felt safe. Hahahaha….. I guess recording all my videos in the morning or at night would make you think that I’m not getting enough rest just because I look so rough at those times. Trina commented on the bags under my eyes. Haha! Oh, and I guess the little titles on my videos about random strangers may cause some to be alarmed but I assure you I’m just being comical.

I may not be going to bed early enough but I’m sleeping probably 7 or so hours a night. The people here are pretty much your “hippy, earthy” type of folks. They’re all really nice and pretty low key for the most part. This place is very clean and well put together for what it is. Laundry facilities, full kitchen with free bagels, $1 all you can eat pancakes, two refrigerators for groceries you want to bring in, so it’s a good place.

I got a call from a friend that I don’t typically get to talk to that much and he was telling me about someone in his town that he believes has started or was interested in starting a coffee house business. He wanted to know if I’d be interested in him getting us hooked up over the phone to “talk a little shop”. Of course I was interested. Then I got to talk to one of our pastors via Facebook last night and he gave me some ideas about possible locations for my coffee shop that I really hadn’t considered up until this point. So, that was very encouraging. I really had some prayer time throughout the day yesterday just asking God for affirmation and encouragement about what I’m doing here. I asked him to show me or speak to me some how about what it is I’m doing and then I have those interactions with those two friends of mine. I don’t know about everyone else but I typically take those occurrences and God answering my prayers.

So i say all that to say, I feel encouraged this morning and it’s a good feeling. When you’re in a place like I am this week, by yourself, away from your family, friends, and your typical surroundings, it’s easy to start self doubting and getting down on yourself at times. I do think that’s just part of a process like this though.

Thanks to everyone that has text me, sent me messages on Facebook, or made comments on my blog. It’s great to know that people are thinking and praying for me. I really do appreciate it a lot.

Ok, I’d better go catch the bus before I’m late for class. We’ll be working on making Panini and some other food menu items today as well as practicing specialty coffee drinks some more I’m sure. Latte art is tomorrow. If no one has seen Latte art, it’s really cool and something I’ve not seen in our area.

Oh, I’ve also found some sweet looking coffee shops around here. Maybe I’ll be able to share some pictures with everyone later tonight. MORE TO COME LATER…..

2 Comments

  1. you know, i’ve been wondering about that latte art. it’s really cool looking.

    i look forward to seeing all this unfold. what a great undertaking. can’t wait to talk to you about it.

    any idea as to when you’ll get started back here in Arkansas… like 6 months? 2 years? monday?

    Like

    Reply

  2. So I’m glad to hear that everything is going well there. I’m sure you’ll have lots of great ideas for the coffee shop that I’ll get to hear about. Just so you know, your family misses you! Be seeing you very soon. Be safe, and remember don’t eat the yellow snow…
    Audra

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

